Articles of Interest

“A phone interview may be your first step to a new job.” (via Nashville Career Advancement Center)

After my first (and somewhat unexpected) phone interview went awry, I became a sceptic of the whole phone interview concept. For starters, I was so unprepared/not expecting it that it took place in my car in a parking garage. At this point, I don’t even remember who it was for, all I remember was that it was not something I walked away from feeling warm and mushy on the inside.

Luckily, I’ve restored my confidence to the point that I no longer dread phone interviews.  I’ve begun humming a new tune and I couldn’t agree with this post from the Nashville Career Advancement Center’s blog more.

Connie, of Connie’s Corner, mentions several tips that are important to keep in mind for any upcoming phone interviews you might have. They include bringing pen and paper to take notes, practicing with a friend and making sure you are in a quiet, distraction-free area.

I definitely find myself agreeing with everything Connie mentioned, but I also have a couple of extra tips for you to keep in mind.

  • My most important tip for over the phone interviews, make sure your enthusiasm for the opportunity is apparent as interviewers won’t be able to read visual clues.
  • Also, I use a hand’s free headset during my calls so that I have both hands free (for note taking, referencing something online, etc).
  • Finally, just be confident and be yourself.

Tip for the day:  “Leadership is a choice, not a position.”  By:  Steven R.

Covey Q:  Dear Connie: I have been applying for jobs and several companies have said the first step will be a phone interview.  I have not done an interview on the phone.  Can you give me some tips?

A:   For most companies, a phone interview is the first step.  You may do several phone interviews with different groups at a company before you are invited to come in for a … Read More

via Nashville Career Advancement Center

Leave a Reply

