Conferences / Social Media

Getting Your “Like” On

I wrote 95% of this post the days following Social Fresh; unfortunately, I haven’t been able to much with it until now. But, in this case, it isn’t about the time line, it’s about the material…

At the Facebook Q & A session of #SocialFresh, Chris Penn (@CSPenn) of Blue Sky Factory (@BlueSkyFactory) shared that consumers can easily “like” your Facebook Fan Page by texting “Like Fill in the Blank with your Fan Page” to 32665. Penn also noted that you could make a fun little window graphic with this information to display in your place of business at Blue Sky Factory’s website.

As I don’t have a company that I am currently promoting (and Ad 2 Nashville’s fan page wouldn’t work for URL reasons), I decided to use the popular mexican fast food chain Chipotle (@ChipotleTweets) as an example:

Make Your Own @ BlueSkyfactory.com/FBsign

 

The “Like” texting concept may not be much, but it is something that I, as the consumer and as the SM passionista, had never known before. Although it still requires thought and effort on the consumer’s behalf, it is easier than remembering that maybe you, as the consumer, should “like” them on Facebook once you get home.

As always, though, it’s important to remember that “Liking” a company isn’t just about a consumer declaring their brand preference; it’s about the fact that each and every person who “Likes” you, your brand or your company wants to connect and build a relationship with you.

2 thoughts on “Getting Your “Like” On

  1. I’m the same way, this idea isn’t much, but as a consumer, I’ve been in the situation where I’ve tried to remember to “Like” a brand/company/etc once I got home, but then forgot. If only I had known this before hand. 🙂

  2. I think this is just the beginning of mobile helping to grow your online audience. We’re beginning to integrate it more with email marketing, and the example above is just one way it can work with social media. I’m excited to see where it goes!

    Amy Garland
    Marketing Manager, Blue Sky Factory

Leave a Reply

