Social Media / Why I Love...

Why I love Foursquare 3.0

As many of you know, Foursquare has released a new version of our favorite LBS. With this latest upgrade, users can not only check-in to venues and post photos and comments, but they can also explore their cities in a whole new, foursquare kind of way.

Explore with Foursquare

For starters, after attending an PRSA webinar on the news release 2.0 (post to come later), I debated going home or going to eat. Thanks to Foursquare, I’m eating at my favorite, fast food mexican joint–Chipotle–that I never even knew existed here in Nashville.

The explore tab allows you to search nearby venues (you can adjust how far you are willing to travel) based off of your previous check-in trends and what’s going on around you (whether you want the input of everyone or just your friends is also up to you).

First, you choose what you are looking for (food, coffee, nightlife, shops or A&E):

Then you can a) see what’s suggested or b) further your search criteria even more:

Mainly, I love this new feature because it allows me, the Nashville newbie, to experience the town a little bit more. Instead of being tempted to just go to the same ‘ole place, I can see what’s going on, who’s out on the town and what’s good and nearby. Although I started to do this before Foursquare 3.0, it’s so much easier with this mainstreamed feature.

The New and Improved Point System

I am not going to try and dodge the bullet on this one, I actually kind of enjoyed checking in to places to rack up the points. However, after coming to realization that no one else really cared, I decided to tone it down a bit. With Foursquare 3.0 much hasn’t changed as far as acquiring points are concerned. You still get points for checking in multiple times in a day, checking in with friends, checking in previously visited venues and what not, but this time around they have put more of an emphasis on it.

As you can see, when you visit your updated “Me” tab, you are immediately greeted by your stats for the week and your ranking in the Leaderboard.

The most change (where the point system is concerned) is seen on the check-in confirmation page. After checking in, Foursquare prominently displays the points you accumulated with this check in, as well as your total point accumulation for the week.

As we learned at Social Fresh, Location Based Services are important because they allow consumers to voice their brand preferences in a fun, interactive way. Beyond the benefits for consumers’ use of LBS, it is also important to realize the benefits of LBS’ from a business standpoint. They allow businesses to feel out their consumers, connect with them and encourage them to come back. It the end, it’s a win-win situation, and, for those who have not claimed their business, you really are missing out on a world of potential. LBS isn’t the next best thing, that ship has sailed; it’s already here.

One thought on “Why I love Foursquare 3.0

  1. I’ll be honest, I don’t use Foursquare that often. Between 2 virtual internships and classes online, I don’t really have many places to check in to. However, in the very near future, once I move, I will most likely be using it constantly. Great post though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

