Blog / Social Media

“The Who, Why, and How of Twitter” via AllTwitter.com

Source: “The Who, Why, and How of Twitter”, MediaBistro.com

While checking over my email today, I found this infographic immersed within the daily PRSA e-newsletter.

Of all the statistics, a few stuck out to me:

  • 24% of Twitter users check their feed several times a day (I fall into this category), but 21% never check it.

My first thought: Wow, these scores are pretty neck and neck.

My second thought: I suppose, in my Twitterverse, I am constantly connecting with and following people who, like me, use Twitter for both professional and personal reasons. We use Twitter like it is our job and, for many of us, it is.

Then I remember that, unlike me and my tweeps, some people just use Twitter because it is similar to Facebook.

  • The average Twitter user is (drumroll, please) a 20-something, Hispanic female

Again, this was not quite what I was expecting. On the other hand, if someone were to ask me who they thought the average Twitter user was, I wouldn’t have had the wildest idea. I probably would have assumed they were 20-something, but male rather female.

Did this infographic suprise you? What did you expect to see?

Leave a Reply

