Social Media / Technology

Foodie 2.0

GirltoGourmetista

I am one part foodie and one part social media addict. I was obviously born in the right era; otherwise, what would have I done before the world of Yelp, Google Places, Foursquare, Pinterest and Tumblr. I think, I might have starved.

Luckily, the Internet is an ever-present force in my foodie ways. If I can’t decide what to order, I turn to reviews on Yelp and/or Foursquare. If I’m at a loss for what to cook tonight for dinner, I lose myself in the recipes shared on Pinterest (case in point: check out my “Recipe Box“). And of course, I’m always following my favorite foodie blogs, bars and restaurants on Facebook and Twitter for deals, menu recommendations or last-minute reservations (hey, a girl can dream). I’ve even been known to order food off my iPhone (thanks to GrubHub) a time or two.

I’m not the only one going Foodie 2.0 either. According to the National Restaurant Association, 3 in 10 consumers use social media to help choose a restaurant and 3 in 10 consumers have also shared reviews online through sites like Yelp. In turn, 95 percent of restauranteurs are planning on joining Facebook in the next two years (why they aren’t already on there beats me) while 78 percent plan to join Twitter.

Image courtesy of Mashable.com and the National Restaurant Association

Do you use social media before cooking or going out to eat? What’s your social media site of preference when it comes to restaurants? Recipes?

Infographic via “Most Restaurant-Goers Rely on Online Reviews [INFOGRAPHIC]” on Mashable.com

Leave a Reply

